Chakras for Beginners: Heart Chakra Basics

This blog post is the 4rd of our "Chakra for Beginners" series.

Click here to read our third post about the Solar Plexus Chakra.

☽ ☆ ☾ THE HEART CHAKRA ☽ ☆ ☾

The heart chakra is the fourth chakra in the human body and is represented by the color green (and sometimes pink). Located at the center of the chest, the heart chakra is all about love and compassion for oneself and others.

The Sanskrit name for the heart chakra is Anahata, which means “unhurt, unstruck, and unbeaten.” This chakra is associated with the air element, the cross or hexagon symbol, and the planets Jupiter and Venus.

Heart Chakra Infographic by infiniteLi

When the heart chakra is balanced, you express yourself openly and honestly and feel kindness and forgiveness towards others.

On the other hand, when the heart chakra is out of balance, we can experience addictions to love, approval, and approval-seeking behaviors.

When we’re addicted to the highs we get from these emotions, our judgment and intuition can become impaired. As a result, we may find ourselves in unhealthy or codependent relationships or seeking out drama and chaos.


There are several ways to activate and balance the heart chakra. One way is to meditate on the energy of love and compassion.

Another is spending time in nature, as the earth’s energy can help soothe us when we feel ungrounded.

A third is to practice yoga. When you move your body in yoga, you open up your energy flow and allow fresh energy to come in. That’s because yoga helps to move your body in ways that focus on your breath. When you focus on your breath, it helps to open your heart chakra.

Our customizable yoga mats are available in many different beautiful patterns and colors. You can select the one you feel will help you the most in your practice. 
 infiniteLi yoga mats collection
Click the image above or the link below to see all our yoga mats on zazzle:

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published