Chakras for Beginners: Third Eye Chakra Basics

This blog post is the 6th of our “Chakra for Beginners” series.

Click here to read our 5th post about the Throat Chakra.


The 3rd eye chakra, represented by the indigo color, is the sixth chakra in the human body and is associated with light and illumination. Its Sanskrit name Ajna, pronounced Agya, translates as command. This chakra is associated with intuition, psychic ability, and connection to the spiritual realm.

Located in the center of your forehead, the 3rd eye chakra is often the focal point during meditation practices. Its key focus is the good of the community and seeing the bigger picture. This chakra is also associated with the Star of David and Saturn and Neptune planets.
third eye chakra infographic

The 3rd eye chakra is responsible for imagination and higher thinking. When balanced, your instincts are strong, and you can see beyond the physical world. Furthermore, you can trust your intuition and use it as your guiding light.

In contrast, when the 3rd eye chakra is unbalanced, you may feel spaced out, disoriented, or foggy. Addictions can also manifest in different ways to numb the pain and feel connected to something bigger than yourself.


To help balance the third eye chakra, you can try using certain gemstones like amethyst, lapis lazuli, and purple fluorite. Carrying these stones or wearing them (as in the case of jewelry) can help to open and activate the third eye chakra, promoting greater insight and understanding.

You should consider getting one of our raw carved amethyst rings below:

amethyst raw carved gemstone rings
These beautiful rings are hand-carved from a solid piece of stone (making each one-of-a-kind) and sourced from Brazil. They’re also unisex, so you can gift them to both men and women. Unfortunately, these popular rings are limited in size and availability, so click the ring image above to order yours before they're all gone!

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published